Find Us

1, Guestimate Avenue, First Bank Bus Stop, Oregun – Ikeja. Lagos –  State


Guestimate Avenue, First Bank Bus Stop, Oregun - Ikeja. Lagos -  State  Nigeria



Lagos State was created out of the former western region by the then regime of General Yakubu Gowon. It’s capital is Ikeja. Prior to this, Lagos Municipality had been administered by the Federal Government through the Federal Ministry of Lagos Affairs as the regional authority, while the Lagos City Council (LCC) governed the City of Lagos. Equally, the metropolitan areas (Colony Province) of Ikeja, Agege, Mushin, Ikorodu, Epe and Badagry were administered by the Western Region.

Located in the south-western part of Nigeria, Lagos State occupies 3,345 square kilometres. It shares boundaries with Ogun State both in the North and East and is bounded on the west by the Republic of Benin. In the South it stretches for 180 kilometres along the coast of the Atlantic Ocean. The smallest State in the Federation, it occupies an area of 3,345 square kilometres, 22% or 787sq. km of which consists of lagoons and creeks

The State took off as an administrative entity on April 11, 1968 with Lagos Island serving the dual role of being the State and Federal Capital.

However, with the creation of the Federal Capital Territory of Abuja in 1976, Lagos ceased to be the capital of the State which was moved to Ikeja. Equally, with the formal relocation of the seat of the Federal Government to Abuja on 12 December 1991, Lagos ceased to be Nigeria’s political capital.

Nevertheless, Lagos remains the nations economic and commercial capital. 

Lagos State is inhabited by the Aworis and Ogus in Ikeja and Badagry Divisions respectively, with the Ogus being found mainly in Badagry.

While the indigenous population of Lagos are Aworis, there is, nevertheless, an admixture of other pioneer immigrant settlers collectively called Lagosians but more appropriately the Ekos.

The indigenes of Ikorodu and Epe Divisions are mainly the Ijebus with pockets of Ek-o-Awori settlers along the coastland and riverine areas.

While the State is essentially a Yoruba speaking environment, it is nevertheless a socio-cultural melting pot attracting both Nigerians and foreigners alike.

The state has a Tourism Policy which recognises six tourism zones, namely: Bar Beach Water Argentinad recreational zone; Lekki-Maiyegun resort Argentinad zone; Kuramo Water Argentinad tourism zone; Epe-Marina Cultural tourism zone; Badagry Marina Recreational and Cultural zone.

Prominent tourist attractions in the state include; City Hall (headquarters of the Lagos Island Local Government); the National Theatre, National Museum, Onikan; Holy Cross Cathedral, Lagos, the seat of Catholic Archdiocese; Relics of Brazilian and other colonial quarters; the site of the fallen Agia tree, Badagry, where Christianity was first preached in Nigeria in 1842; Oso-Lekki Breakwaters; First storey building in Nigeria (1845) at Badagry. Others are the Bar Beach. Tarkwa Bay, Badagry Beach and Lekki Peninsula. There is also the Eyo festival which is held to mark important events in the state.

Badagry town houses the first storey building in Nigeria, built in 1845 and still standing on its original site.

** Lagos Population figures are being disputed by the State Government. Based on all known parameters and previous figures, Lagos State has always been the most populous state in Nigeria.


click to join lagos state Whatsapp group



Follow by Email
WhatsApp chat